NAU distinguished service alumni awards

The Distinguished Service Alumni Award is given annually to alumni who have demonstrated excellence in education, in their profession and in contributions to their communities. 

The first Distinguished Service Alumni Award was received by Jerry Shoener, a 1949 graduate of NAU, then called National School of Business. Since 2001, with recipient Dallas Dietrich, the award has been given annually.  


In 2018, thirteen alumni were recognized at graduation ceremonies across the NAU system:

Fred Ader, NAU Albuquerque, ‘00
Karen Brown, NAU Denver, ‘01 (see also Spotlight)
Juan Carter, NAU San Antonio, ‘17
Mickie Hortness, NAU Rapid City, ‘98
David Hollister, NAU Rochester, ‘17
Tonya Ludwig, NAU Rapid City, ‘91 (see also Spotlight)
Charlotte Moss, NAU Indianapolis, ‘11 (see also Spotlight)
Matthew Padgett, NAU Wichita West, ‘17
Hubert Proutt, NAU Austin, ’15 and ’17
Amanda Saeger, NAU Sioux Falls, ‘07
Lora Schlines, NAU Rapid City, ‘90
Kimberly Stambaugh, NAU Zona Rosa, ‘16
Ahmad Thornton, NAU Mesquite, ‘16


Congratulations 2018 Distinguished Service Alumni! Thank you for making a difference in your careers and in your communities, and for representing NAU so well.

Pictured L-R: Charlotte Moss, Karen Brown, Tonya Ludwig, Fred Ader, Dave Hollister, and Kimberly Stambaugh.

Pictured L-R: Mickie Hortness, Ahmad Thornton, Amanda Saeger, Lori Schlines, Hubert Proutt, and Matthew Padgett.

Contact Us

NAU Foundation

5301 Mt Rushmore Road

Rapid City, SD 57701

Connect with us

not-for-profit 501 (c)(3) tax-exempt independent organization established in 1967. 

© 2023 by National American University Foundation Proudly created by Stephen Peot Co

  • Black LinkedIn Icon
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon